Acupuncture

I tried acupuncture for the first time this last Saturday, and it was an interesting experience. Interesting in a good way. My doctor recommended that I come every week at first, and then taper off from there as healing increases.

I don’t know a lot about acupuncture but I’m learning more each day. It started with my mom going to acupuncture and seeing a distinct difference over the last year or two she has been going. Both my mom and I have medical issues that seem to be a never ending domino effect. She has believed in a more holistic approach for quite some time. I on the other hand have taken many years to buy into it. I went through the “it won’t affect me” stage or “I’m invincible” stage for many years until my body rudely reminded me it is king. I am still learning to listen to my body rather than always relying on western medicine. I also have Emma as a reference to acupuncture. She has been doing it for quite some time too and it seems to help her even if only temporarily.

I went to the massage therapist on the same day I tried acupuncture. I decided to get an Indian head massage that focuses on the shoulders and everything above that. It was just what I needed to relieve some of the pain in my upper shoulders, neck, and head. I was telling my therapist that I find it fascinating that she can touch or work on an area on my shoulders and I could feel exactly where it hurt in my neck. The same thing goes for when she’d press on my shoulder blade or upper back area and I’d feel a sensation go up through my neck and arm and down to my fingertips. I also have problems with my hands and joints in my fingers at times. This is not a bad sensation I want to point out but enough of a sensation to spark my interest in how things are so connected. I swear I should have studied to be a massage therapist!

Now back to acupuncture, this is another thing I am fascinated about. My doctor explained that the body is like a road and pain is like a road block. Acupuncture serves to pin point the road blocks and help clear the roadway. Again, I find it so interesting that he can put a needle in my foot that is supposed to help my stomach, or a needle near my knee that is supposed to help with my neck. This fact and this fact alone could be the enough reason  for me to continue with acupuncture, but I did feel better after my session as well–added bonus.

I had about 30 plus needles in me all over my legs, arms, head, stomach, neck, etc. He turned every needle that he put in me, and some hurt more than others. The ones that caused the most pain were in my stomach and in my hands. My stomach illness had been acting up in the last couple of the weeks, so that does not surprise me when it hurt when he twisted the needles in my stomach. What I did not understand was why my right side of my stomach hurt more than my left side of the stomach. Now I never took anatomy in college and science wasn’t my thing, but all my procedures that I have had on my colon my left side of the colon is always the worst. So why would my right side hurt significantly more? It was my understanding the needles in the side of my hand were to help my shoulders which could explain why they hurt so bad with the needle in and still 20 minutes after the needle was removed. My mom also said that it could hurt due to minimal flesh in that area.

All in all, I was satisfied with my experience despite the fact that my doctor wasn’t a man of many words. I will continue to go and I hope to see more connections and more healing. Till then my friends–stay positive and believe. Do you have any acupuncture stories to share?

–Natalie–

Leave a Reply

